RSS

50DMC Day 3 – The movie you’ve seen the most (repeatedly) in your life

30 May

More info on The 50 Day Movie Challenge here and here.

(All caught up now. From now on, it’s one per day.)

I would like to be able to say that the movie I’ve watched the most in my life is some well-regarded classic or modern masterpiece. But while I can’t be 100% sure, I strongly suspect that that’s not the case. The reason why is the Police Academy franchise.

I was a big fan of the Police Academy films when I was young. We had them all recorded on VHS and I watched them over and over and over. I really dug them all. Well, except Mission to Moscow. Even as a child I could tell that that one was awful. Anyway, most people nowadays will tell you that only the first one or two films in the series are any good. Me, I liked 3 and 4 the best. Probably because they had the most of my favorite character, Bobcat Goldthwait’s angry crazy Zed. So let’s just assume that Police Academy 3 is my most-watched movie ever. It’s as good a guess as any, considering the lack of anyone keeping score.

I haven’t watched any of the Police Academy films since the mid-90s. I strongly suspect that they won’t hold up well today. Some memories are best left alone.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 30 May, 2011 in 50 Day Movie Challenge

 

Leave a comment